Grade Center – Clearing Grades

Vendor Documentation: Deleting or Clearing Grades

Clearing Grades

There may be times when you need to either delete a grade or clear the attempt for an activity so that a learner can attempt it again.

Note: Blackboard 9.1 now automatically tracks grade changes across every course by default. The feature is called GRADE HISTORY and can be found when viewing GRADE DETAILS of a student’s attempt and as a full list in the Grade Center under the REPORTS > VIEW GRADE HISTORY menu.

To Delete a Grade:

  1. Access your Blackboard course.
  2. Click on FULL GRADE CENTER under the Control Panel.
  3. Click in Cell where you need to delete a grade.
  4. Press DELETE or BACKSPACE on your keyboard to remove the grade from the cell.
  5. Press ENTER on your keyboard to record the deletion. If you do not press the ENTER key you will receive a dialog box that asks if you want to save the grade change. Press the OK button if you want to record the change.

To Clear an Attempt:

Note: Clearing an attempt will allow a learner to submit again. Be aware that the activity’s DATE AVAILABILITY settings may need to be changed in order for the learner to gain access to the activity to submit again.

  1. Access your Blackboard course.
  2. Click on FULL GRADE CENTER under the Control Panel.
  3. Click on the Downward Chevrons icon in the cell where you need to clear a student’s attempt.
  4. Choose VIEW GRADE DETAILS from the list of options.
  5. Click on the CLEAR ATTEMPT button to the right.
  6. Blackboard will then show you a dialog box warning you that when you clear the attempt, the action will be final. To confirm your clearing of the attempt, click on the OK button.

Now the student can make another attempt at the activity. Make certain that the activity is open and available to the student.

 

Support

For immediate support:

acadtech@cornell.edu

607 255 9760 (M-F, 9a - 5p ET)

Search Academic Technologies