Copy/Reuse Content

Copying content from an old Blackboard course to your new Blackboard course

To copy content, you must first have a new course created in Blackboard. To create a new course, please see Course Site Creation instructions. Courses created through Faculty Center will be empty. To re-use content from a previous course, you need to access your older course that contains content and copy it to the new empty course site.

4-step copy (pdf)

To copy all materials from one course to another:

  1. In your old course, click on Packages and Utilities and select Course Copy.
    CourseCopy
  2. Type the new course id in the “Destination Course ID” field
    CopyCourseID
    Type the complete Blackboard course id, e.g. 1552_2014FA. Alternatively, click the “Browse” button, locate the new course, click the radio button to the left to select it, then click Submit. Course id of the selected course will then appear in the “Destination Course ID” field.
  3. Choose “Select All” option. This will select all content including course navigation settings and  banner image. Student enrollments and student assignments will NOT be copied.
    SelectAllCopy
  4. Click Submit.

More Advanced Course Copy option:

If you need to copy select course content items from one course to another, use instructions below.

If you are including Turnitin assignments in the copy, be sure to check the Grade Center settings box.

  1. In the “old course” Control Panel, select Course Copy from the Packages and Utilities area
  2. Select “Copy Course Materials into an Existing Course” as the Copy Type
  3. Click the Browse button next to “Destination Course ID” and select the course you want to copy into. (Course IDs created through Faculty Center will look something like 46660_2013FA or 46660_2013FA_COMBINED).
  4. Check all of the types of course materials that you want to have included in the copy. Clicking “Select All” button will include all content.
  5. DO NOT check the following boxes under Settings: “Availability”, “Duration”, and “Enrollment Options”
  6. Do not check the box “Include Enrollments in the Copy”
  7. If you are copying assignments or tests: you need to check the “Grade Center Columns and Settings” box in order for assignment (including Turnitin assignments) and tests to copy correctly.
  8. You will receive an email when the copy is complete. Be sure to wait until you receive an email saying that the copy is complete before proceeding with the next step. If you receive an error in the email that reads “Results Error: An error occurred while persisting the course. Please contact the Blackboard Administrator at your institution for assistance”, email acadtech@cornell.edu and do not continue this process. We will work with you to correct the problem.
  9. Once you receive the email, return to your “My Blackboard” page and go to the new site
  10. Delete any menu items that you don’t intend to use (for example, if your course content copied from your old course is in “Course Documents”, and the Content menu item is empty, you should delete the empty menu.)
  11. If you haven’t done so already, follow the instructions here for exporting content from your old course.
  12. Send an email to acadtech@cornell.edu to request that the old course be deleted

To copy course content from a previous Blackboard course, if you are NOT using Managed Enrollment:

  1. Enter the course that has the content you want to copy.
  2. In the Control Panel, select Course Copy from the Packages and Utilities area
  3. Select “Copy Course with Users (Exact Copy)” as the Copy Type
  4. Provide a new Destination Course ID and click the Submit button
  5. You will receive an email when the copy is complete. Be sure to wait until you receive an email saying that the copy is complete before proceeding with the next step. If you receive an error in the email “An error occurred while persisting the course”, email atc_support@cornell.edu and do not continue this process.
  6. Once you receive the email, return to your “My Blackboard” page and go to the new site
  7. In the Control Panel, select Users from the Users and Groups area. Remove any users that are no longer in your course
  8. If you haven’t done so already, follow the instructions here for archiving your old course.
  9. Send an email to acadtech@cornell.edu to request that the old course be deleted.

Date Management

The date management tool lets you easily adjust all content dates in your course. The first step of date management is to decide if you want the system to automatically adjust the dates. To Access Date Management tool, expand the Course Tools section in the Control PanelAdjust Dates

  1. Select Use Course Start Date or Adjust by Number of Days to adjust the date accordingly.
  2. You can also review all dates and adjust them later on the Date Management Review page.

Support

For immediate support:

acadtech@cornell.edu

607 255 9760 (M-F, 9a - 5p ET)

Search Academic Technologies