Video Tutorial: “Student Preview Video”
Vendor Documentation: “Student Preview”
Instructors can use the Student Preview mode to review the course content and validate the course behaviors. The Enter Student Preview link appears in the top-right corner of the course page.
While in student preview, you can experience your course exactly as your students would. You can do the following student activities:
- Submit assignments
- Take tests
- Create blog and discussion posts
- Create journal and wiki entries
- View student tools, such as My Grades
How is Student View different from switching to Edit Mode (OFF)?
When Edit Mode is OFF the editing controls are hidden and instructors cannot see any content that would normally be hidden from a student. However, instructor cannot see tools that would normally be available only to students such as My Grades.
Accessing Student Preview
Click the icon to Enter Student Preview mode, at the top-right corner of your course pages.
Student Preview creates a student account, called the preview user account. The account is automatically logged in and enrolled in the course as a student. Once you’re in the student mode, the student preview bar appears at the top of every page. The bar displays the text “Student Preview mode is ON” and has Settings and Exit Preview links.
As a preview user, all the data associated with your activities are recorded, such as submitted assignments and discussion posts. In fact, other students can interact with your preview user. For example, they can reply to your posts as though you were another student enrolled in the course.
Exit and Delete Your Preview User Account
To exit the Student Preview, click Exit Preview link at the top of the page. You will see an Exit Student Preview dialog with two options:
- Delete the preview user and all the data (Recommended)
If you choose this option, all activity conducted as this user would be permanently removed from the course. This includes test and assignment submissions, discussion forum posts, and grades. If there were any interactions from student participants with this preview user, their discussion posts would also be deleted.
- Keep the preview user and all data
Select this option if you need to keep the user data to see how student activity is presented to the instructor such as assignment or test submissions, grade calculations. The preview user will appear in the Grade Center. The preview user will display your last name and NetID followed by “_preview” (i.e. Smith_preview, ams9999_preview).
When you exit the preview user account and choose to keep user data, the Student Preview icon will display a green dot:
If you keep your preview user account and run reports or gather statistics from your course, your numbers will be skewed by one (or more if there are multiple instructors using student preview). Also, it can potentially confuse your students who may try to interact with your preview student.
Important: If you leave the course without exiting from student preview, you will return to student preview when you return to the course.